Hungry, anyone?

Today, my creations are among my favorite things ever–food!!! I don’t think this really falls into a true “repurposing”, but it’s a new use for a traditional food in my life. So,here we go!

image

I got my inspiration from the post at http://movitabeaucoup.com/2011/09/30/zucchini-brownies/ but changed around the recipe a) to match my taste and b) because I can’t ever seem to follow rules or recipes. Apologies forever to my sister who is a follower of recipes to a tea(spoon)! I know the picture doesn’t look too appealing, but they were fabulous! Super moist and yummy! I might try throwing in a little peanut butter next time for a flavor boost, though. Or maybe bananas. Or both?! So, here’s my take on this delicious little treat:

Zucchini Brownies – adapted slightly from allrecipes.com & then adapted again by movitabeaucoup.com & then again by yours truly

1/2 cup coconut oil (melted)
1 1/2 cups raw sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups shredded zucchini

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease a 9×13

Beat together the coconut oil, sugar and vanilla. When blended, add the flour. Then mix in the cocoa, baking soda and salt. It’s going to look dirt. Like something that will never become brownie batter. Never fear-it will work! Add 2 cups shredded zucchini. (I didn’t shred mine by hand or anything June cleaver like that. I cut it up and chucked it in the food processor. Voila.) It’ll be a thick batter that needs to be pressed into the pan. Bake for 20-25 mins. Enjoy! 🙂

2 responses

Leave a comment